January 2017 Wrap Up

It’s a little late, but it’s still time for a January Wrap Up!

20170201_155324

I have managed to read quite a lot in January and I am really proud of myself! I was able to finish 10 books. Only one of them I had already started reading in 2016. I also started another three books that I haven’t finished yet.
According to Goodreads, that’s 3311 pages (plus about 200 in unfinished books) in January!
A very nice start into the year 🙂

Now, you certainly want to know which ones I read. Here they are:

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
I don’t really know what to think about this one. I was really hyped about it, but even though I enjoyed it, I found myself waiting for it to finally be over. So, I don’t know. It was fun, but it wasn’t actually that good.
3/5 Stars

And I Darken by Kiersten White
I thought this was going to be fantasy, and it wasn’t, but I loved it nonetheless. It was way better than I thought it would be, and I can’t wait for the sequel!
4.5/5 Stars

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard
A very cute little romance! You can find my longer review for it here.
3.5/5 Stars

Scott Pilgrim: Das Leben Rockt! by Bryan Lee O’Malley
Very funny, though I actually like the movie more than the comic so far.
4/5 Stars

Alle Reden Zu Viel Und Andere Gedichte by Charles Bukowski
I don’t know why exactly I read this. The German translation just… sucks. So yeah…
2/5 Stars

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
I had some trouble with getting into this one, but in the end, I still loved it! It wasn’t as good as Illuminae though, but that would have been really hard, anyway.
4/5 Stars

Giant Days 1 by John Allison
I did not know what to expect of this one, but I loved it! It’s really funny and very relatable!
4/5 Stars

Scott Pilgrim Gegen Den Rest Der Welt by Bryan Lee O’Malley
I liked this less than the first volume, as it was too confusing to actually follow the story. Still funny though.
3/5 Stars

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
I read a lot of good things about this novel, so I finally decided to read it, too. And it was amazing! I finished it within less than three hours and cried a lot.
You can find my full review here.
4/5 Stars

Proxy by Alex London
My favorite book of January! There is a gay, POC protagonist, a very interesting dystopian world, and there are lots of plottwists. I can’t see why this book isn’t more popular, because it’s really amazing!
5/5 Stars

I am really looking forward to February now!
I would love to finish both Heartless by Marissa Meyer and Caraval by Stephanie Garber this month! Let’s see if that works 🙂

I hope you have discovered some wonderful books in January, too! I would love to hear about them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

