Review: A Conjuring Of Light

31671570

Find this review on Goodreads

Thebook

(Important: If you haven’t read the first two books of this series, this review will contain unmarked spoilers for them. All spoilers for ACOL will be marked.)

“A Conjuring Of Light”
Author:
V. E. Schwab
Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 666
Publisher: Titan Books
Published: February 2017
Read: March 2017

Find the book here: [x]

Thequote

“Life isn’t made of choices, it’s made of trades.
Some are good, some are bad, but they all have a cost.”

About

A Conjuring of Light continues right where A Gathering of Shadows ended, which is in the middle of a lot of action. People are dying, people are suffering and their only hope – Lila – shouldn’t be there at all. Nice way to end a book (I’m still not over that cliffhanger…), nice way to start a book.
Then there is an evil magic set free, thinking of himself as a god… And the problems with that should be quite obvious.

My opinion

What I loved about this book is the amount of stabbing. Seriously, there’s a lot of it. There are also a lot of betrayal, a lot of twists, a lot of sass and a lot of super awesome characters. What else would you possibly want?

However, though I love this book to pieces, it doesn’t entirely live up to the awesomeness that was A Gathering Of Shadows. I think what Victoria Schwab writes best are characters and their relationships, and – while they are still very good – not so much the actual action parts.
And, unfortunately, A Conjuring of Light lacks a little bit of direction.
(Don’t get me wrong, these are only very minor parts that bothered me.)

All in all, A Conjuring of Light is exactly the right ending for this wonderful series, and if you haven’t read it yet, do so immediately! You won’t regret it.

Now to the spoilering part, as in, my personal rant. Really, don’t read this until you have finished the book.

SPOILER!!!
Did any side character survive this at all? I feel like they all just died. All of them.

And seriously, bringing evil magic into Grey London may not prove to be their best idea later on.

Apart from that, I think this will be the only book where I will ever say this, but I had hoped for more romance. What was there was perfect, but I had really hoped for a bit more.

The end, however, was EVERYTHING. Kell picking up Lilas line from… book one, I guess it was. All that “Anoshe” stuff. The whole feeling to it. Everyone finally being (quite) happy. I loved that! I needed that! After all, it was that kind of book where you just wanted to hug the characters to make them finally feel better.

Ratingg

4,5/5 Stars

FünfSterne

One thought on “Review: A Conjuring Of Light

Leave a Reply

